ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

28 MAY 2019

REPORT OF CHIEF EXECUTIVE

A.1 <u>MEMBERSHIP OF POLITICAL GROUPS ON TENDRING DISTRICT COUNCIL</u> (INCLUDING THEIR LEADERS AND DEPUTY LEADERS)

(Report prepared by Ian Ford)

Following the District Council Elections held on 2 May 2019 I formally report that, pursuant to Regulation 8 of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990, the following political groups have been formed on Tendring District Council:-

Conservative Group

Maurice Alexander Chris Amos Jeff Bray John Chittock Alan Coley Zoe Fairley Chris Griffiths Carlo Guglielmi (Deputy Group Leader) Val Guglielmi Paul Honeywood Sue Honeywood Dan Land Lynda McWilliams Mick Skeels Neil Stock OBE (Group Leader) Nick Turner

Holland-on-Sea Group

Joy Broderick (Group Leader) K T King Colin Winfield (Deputy Group Leader)

Independent Group

Mick Barry Jayne Chapman (Group Leader) Anne Davis Graham Steady (Deputy Group Leader)

Labour Group

Bill Davidson Garry Calver (Deputy Group Leader) Maria Fowler Ivan Henderson (Group Leader) Jo Henderson Pam Morrison

Liberal Democrats Group

Gary Scott (Group Leader) Ann Wiggins (Deputy Group Leader)

Tendring First Group

Terry Allen (Group Leader) Paul Clifton Fiona Knowles Gina Placey

Tendring Independents Group

Mike Bush (Deputy Group Leader) Dan Casey Peter Harris Delyth Miles Gemma Stephenson Mark Stephenson (Group Leader)

United Kingdom Independence Party (UKIP) Group

James Codling Mary Newton (Group Leader) Nicola Overton (Deputy Group Leader) Alex Porter

Members will be aware that the election of Councillors for the St Osyth Ward was postponed (due to the death of a candidate) from 2 May 2019 to 23 May 2019. I will give a verbal update at the meeting as to which political group(s), if any, those elected Councillors have joined.

In addition, it is anticipated that Councillor Peter Cawthron will join the UKIP Group but he will not be signing his statutory declaration of acceptance of office and other notices until 28 May 2019 and so again I will give a verbal update at the meeting as to which political group, if any, Councillor Cawthron has joined.

In accordance with Section 15(1)(e) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and Regulation 17 of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 a review of the allocation of seats on Committees etc. to political groups has been carried out based on the available information. The outcome of that review will be considered by Council later in the Annual Meeting.

This item is submitted for **INFORMATION ONLY**.

IAN DAVIDSON CHIEF EXECUTIVE

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

28 MAY 2019

BACKGROUND PAPERS LIST FOR REPORT OF CHIEF EXECUTIVE

A.1 <u>MEMBERSHIP OF POLITICAL GROUPS ON TENDRING DISTRICT COUNCIL</u> (INCLUDING THEIR LEADERS AND DEPUTY LEADERS)

Notice of Constitution of a Political Group (Conservative) dated 4 May 2019

Notice of Constitution of a Political Group (Holland-on-Sea) dated 5 May 2019

Notice of Constitution of a Political Group (Independent) dated 3 May 2019

Notice of Constitution of a Political Group (Labour) dated 13 May 2019

Notice of Constitution of a Political Group (Liberal Democrats) dated 7 May 2019

Notice of Constitution of a Political Group (Tendring First) dated 12 May 2019

Notice of Constitution of a Political Group (Tendring Independents) dated 7 May 2019

Notice of Constitution of a Political Group (UKIP) dated 10 May 2019

Notice of Wish to Join a Political Group (Conservative) signed by Councillor Bray, countersigned by the Group Leader and dated 13 May 2019